Journalists making good use of Facebook

3 Apr

Journalists using Facebook has recently become a trend. There is a “Facebook + Journalists” page users can like on Facebook that will give them tips on how to start using the site for journalistic purposes. These tips include setting up a profile with subscribe, so people can subscribe to your page, posting content to your subscribers, engaging your audience and linking with your mobile device. In order to get users to recognize Facebook as a tool for journalists, Facebook is reaching out with workshops and new pages. It’s working. People are finally starting to appreciate Facebook and what it can do for journalism. Recently, the site’s role in social media has been growing.

There are several beneficial ways that journalists can use Facebook. For one, it allows them to write more than 140 characters, unlike Twitter. Facebook also allows for journalists to showcase multimedia. They can use photos, video, and links to share a story. Facebook is also great for breaking news. Many people find out about breaking things via Facebook already. I know that I have seen some breaking news first on Facebook before. This is a great thing for journalists to take advantage of. Facebook also allows journalists to largely distribute their content, utilize social storytelling, and even build their journalistic brand. Many journalists have a professional Facebook page relating to their jobs as journalists, in addition to their personal pages. By subscribing to reporter’s professional page, new information that they post will pop up in your personal newsfeed. They can also self-promote, by making statuses and gaining followers and subscribers. For instance, if you really like POLITICO and Kenneth P. Vogel, you can subscribe to his Facebook page. Even news programs, like CBS This Morning, are using Facebook to promote and connect with readers. They are constantly updating their page with links to new stories and even posting behind the scenes videos for readers to enjoy.

I think that journalists could use Facebook to potentially gain loyal followers and even to obtain potential sources. I think using Facebook presents journalists with the opportunity to connect with a lot of people. It allows them to feed their content to an abundance of readers and online users. I also think they could use Facebook to get ideas for stories and gage what people are interested in. If everybody is posting about this new obscure website, it would probably make for a good story that people would read. I could see legal or ethical issues arising if journalists tried to quote what people have said on Facebook.

Personally, I have used Facebook to promote my blog for this class, Pinning Pros. I have updated my status including a link to my blog, urging my friends to read it. A few of them have liked my posts about my blog. Some have even said that they read it and enjoying my blog posts on Pinterest. I think Facebook is a useful way to promote your online work and writing.

One Response to “Journalists making good use of Facebook”

  1. Ronald R. Rodgers April 4, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    Personally, I have used Facebook to promote my blog for this class, Pinning Pros. I have updated my status including a link to my blog, urging my friends to read it. A few of them have liked my posts about my blog. Some have even said that they read it and enjoying my blog posts on Pinterest. I think Facebook is a useful way to promote your online work and writing. SO, HAS PROMOTION MOVED PAST YOUR FRIENDS?

Leave a Reply

